all posts title image
The 2020 Cholmondeley Awards – meet the winners

Awarded the Cholmondeley Award for Poets

August 4th 2020

We are excited to announce our colleague and dear friend Rod Mengham, poet, art writer, professor at Jesus College Cambridge has been awarded the Cholmondeley Award for Poets. The Award is judged by poets for poets on their general body of work and contribution to poetry.

The Award was founded by the late Dowager Marchioness of Cholmondeley in 1966 to recognise the achievement and distinction of individual poets.

Previous recipients include Basil Bunting (1982), Philip Larkin (1973) and Alison Brackenbury (1997), Elaine Feinstein (1990), Lawrence Durrell (1986), Derek Walcott (1969) and Seamus Heaney (1967).

You can watch his acceptance speech in this video linked.